Fri, Dec 17 | Livestream — YouTube and Facebook

Modern Baroque Rebroadcast

Featuring contemporary works inspired by music of the Baroque era.
Modern Baroque Rebroadcast

Time & Location

Dec 17, 7:00 PM CST
Livestream — YouTube and Facebook

About the event

5th Wave Collective presents "Modern Baroque", a concert of contemporary works that were inspired by music of the Baroque era (approximately 1600 to 1750). The program features music by Lera Auerbach, Andrea Tarrodi, and more, plus a special performance of Ruby Fulton's "the girl who cried pain", written for 5th Wave flutist Anatolia Evarkiou-Kaku just this year. 

This video concert is a rebroadcast of a 5th Wave's November 19 performance at Heaven Gallery (Chicago, IL). The concert will stream on 5th Wave Collective's YouTube channel and Facebook page, beginning at 7pm CT. Direct streaming links coming soon.  

Click here to read program notes on 5th Wave's blog. 

Modern Baroque

Nina C. Young | Memento Mori 

Aziza Sadikova | La Baroque 

Shulamit Ran | Bach Shards 

Lera Auerbach | 24 Preludes (selections) 

TJ Cole | Scherzo :"Ach Wie Fluchtig, Ach Wie Nichtig"  

Andrea Tarrodi | Madrigali - Hommage à Barbara Strozzi 

Ruby Fulton | the girl who cried pain: a theme & variations 


Anatolia Evarkiou-Kaku, flute

Gordon Daole-Wellman, clarinet

Carmen Abelson, violin

Shannon Mustard, violin

Bethany Pereboom, viola

David Sands, cello

Josephine Yang, piano

Rebecca McDaniel, percussion

"the girl who cried pain" by Ruby Fulton was commissioned by Anatolia Evarkiou-Kaku, and written especially for 5th Wave Collective, Carmen Abelson, and Rebecca McDaniel. Creation of the work is partially supported by a Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events Individual Artists Program grant, and by a grant from the Idaho Commission on the Arts.

Share this event